The St. Francis in the Fields Vestry is made up of existing members of the parish who are faithful and steadily present in Sunday worship; reflect a deep commitment to the Christian faith and to the church’s ministry; are a proportional, pledging member of the parish; and manifest leadership abilities and commitment within the parish. As Vestry members meet the demands of being Christ-focused leaders in the parish, they are steadily present at gatherings of the congregation and attend all monthly Vestry meetings and go on weekend conferences with the Vestry for occasions of planning and spiritual reflection. Much of the Vestry business is long range planning to achieve the parish vision and mission, finance, and facilities; serve on other lay committees that support parish programs and ministries; reflect seriously with the Vestry on the Christian call to stewardship of our resources of wealth and talent and serve as a leader of the congregation in that regard. The Vestry takes seriously a course of personal growth in the traditions of the Christian faith to include Bible reading and reflection.

Vestry members are elected for a 3-year term at our Annual Parish Meeting, usually held on the last Sunday of January. Applicants are sought beginning in September for the opening slots that will come available. Since we are currently being led by the Interim Rector, we have adopted the best and common practice to delay the addition of newly-elected Vestry members until January 2020. Applicants will be sought in September 2019. For more information, you may contact the Senior Warden.

Click HERE for a Nomination Form to fill out.

Vestry Minutes are also kept on file at the church, but will be made available upon request once they have been approved.


Term Ending 2019: Powell Starks, Senior Warden, John Bush, David Eager, Barbara Tracy, Elise Whitman

Term Ending 2020: Bob Burdette, John David Myles, Clerk, Marianne Reutlinger, Tim Root, Junior Warden, Liz Cecil

Term Ending 2021: Katie Booker, Thomas Dieruf, John Jennings, Thomas Noland, Jr., Cassandra Zimmerman

Appointees: George Vieth, Treasurer; Bill Receveur, Properties Committee